The 11th edition of the biennial Malta Mathematics Olympiad for Year 10 students was recently held at MRC Mosta Secondary School (Ex Lily of the Valley).  A total of 58 students from State and non-State schools competed in this one-day event.  Participants were actively engaged in working two papers including a range of questions using calculator and non-calculator methods.

The three top students of the 11th Malta Mathematics Olympiad are Wanghan Zhu (Verdala International School), Shunxin Wang (Żejtun Secondary School) and Karl Yousif (Mrieħel Secondary School), who placed first, second and third respectively.

Hon Dr Clifton Grima, Minister for Education, Sport, Youth, Research and Innovation presented the trophies to the three winners while Hon Mr Ray Abela TCTC presented the winners with the awards.  Certificates of excellence were presented by Ms Desiree Scicluna Bugeja Assistant Director, DLAP.

The event was organised by the Mathematics Department at the Science Centre (Pembroke) within the Directorate for Learning and Assessment Programmes.