EducationMinistry for Education

The 1st Edition of the Malta STEM Education Awards held under the patronage of H.E. The President of Malta

The President of Malta presented the awards of the first edition of the Malta STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) Education Awards – organized by the Science Centre (Pembroke) within the Directorate for Learning and Assessment Programmes (DLAP), and under the patronage of H.E. The President of Malta Dr. George Vella.  The Malta STEM Education Awards have been established t o celebrate outstanding practitioners and entities that foster high quality STEM education practices.

The President, Dr. George Vella, explained how these awards acknowledge the added value of a national policy that focuses on the cohesion of science education, the well-being of the community, and development in the world of work.  He expressed the wish that more female students take up STEM subjects.  Whilst congratulating all the winners, he added that they will continue to be an important example for Maltese students by inspiring them regarding the various opportunities in the respective sectors.

Desiree Scicluna Bugeja, Assistant Director at DLAP, said that, “The DLAP is highly committed to provide Quality STEM Education to all students.  Indeed, the Malta STEM Education Awards celebrate professionals and entities that inspire young students to pursue STEM subjects and careers.  In a rapidly changing and increasingly complex world, STEM Education remains a national priority to equip young students – the future leaders – with the necessary scientific literacy to understand and solve complex challenges of today and tomorrow while meeting the demands of the dynamic evolving workforce.”

The awardees were Nadine Mifsud, who was awarded as a Distinguished STEM educator in early years;  Sabrina Camilleri, awarded  as a Distinguished STEM educator in primary education;  Duncan Ciappara, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator Middle Award;  Stephanie Maggi Pulis, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator in Secondary Award;  Richard Zahra, awarded the Distinguished  STEM Educator in Post-secondary Award;  James Galea, awarded the Distinguished STEM Technician Award;  Pauline Grech, awarded the Distinguished Educational Leadership in STEM Award;  Michael Spagnol, awarded the Distinguished  STEM Professional Development Award;  Analisa Magro, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator within the Community Award;  the United States Embassy in Malta, awarded the Distinguished STEM Education Partnership Award;  Gaetano Bugeja, awarded the Exceptional Contribution to STEM Education Award;  and Joseph Bartolo, awarded the Lifetime Contribution to STEM Education Award.

Present for the award presentation was Dr Frank Fabri, Permanent Secretary Ministry for Education.